All About the Order

2 Timothy 1:6-7  |  That is why I remind you to fan into flames the spiritual gift God gave you when I laid hands on you. For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.

I was meditating on this verse while I was washing the dishes tonight. Kay is gone doing laundry and I turned the radio on, but God told me to “practice what you preach and turn it off.” So I did. And as I was thinking about the verse and going over it in my mind, I found myself praying that God would give me a spirit of self-discipline that I have been seeking so much in the last few days and weeks and months. And I got to thinking about the order they are listed: power, love, and self-discipline.

Now certainly this is not speaking of our own power, because we have no power apart from the power of Christ in us. Which makes me wonder if the reason that it is so hard to get up early in the morning, for instance, is because I have been going about the whole thing backwards. I have been trying to have a spirit of self-discipline, which I thought would lead to a spirit of love as the Word of God transforms me, and then that would give me a great sense of God’s power in my life.

But as I washed the dishes tonight, I realized that I am going about it all backwards. What I need is to beg for God’s power to read and study and memorize and meditate on God’s word. And as I feel him giving me a spirit of [His] power, it will cause in me a spirit of love for Him, that will naturally lead me to spend consistent time with Him – what most people would call self-discipline, or what other translations would call a “sound mind.” 

So my prayer now is that God would give me that same spirit of power, love, and self-discipline. And in that order.

~ by lukewil86 on September 11, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
