Meditations & Musings

Hi there! Just wanted to let you know that I am going to start doing something a little bit different on my blog here. While there still may be a topical thing that I want to spout off about now and then, at least for a while my posts are going to be exegetical [finding the truths in Scripture]. OK, maybe that’s stretching it a little. They’ll at least not be eisegetical [reading truths into Scripture]. Hopefully none will be heretical.

I’m gonna call this Meditations & Musings:

Meditations

Dallas Willard: “If I had to choose between all the disciplines of the spiritual life, I would choose Bible memorization.” I wholeheartedly agree. Never is my mind and heart so full of God as when I am memorizing his word. And in trying to memorize, I repeat it over and over and over again. And it gets ingrained in my mind, and I begin to think about it differently and more clearly than ever before. That’s meditation.

After a summer long hiatus, I am back on track memorizing Scripture, two verses a day, every day. Romans was bogging me down before… it’s a heavy book. So now I am in 2 Timothy. I thought it was a good practical book that is short, so I’ll have the encouragement of seeing the light at the end of the tunnel!

Musings

Muse: To be absorbed in thought. An interesting thing that most people don’t realize about the English language is that if you put the letter ‘a’ in front of word, it negates the word. (i.e. a theist is someone who believes in God, therefore an atheist is someone who does not believe in God).

I want you to muse on the fact that an a before the word negates it. Muse means to think deeply.

God has convicted me that much of my existence consists of purposely not thinking deeply – being AMUSED. So this blog is an exercise in getting me to muse. Hopefully it will you as well. And I pray that even if you find it humorous at times, you won’t find it the least bit amusing.

This series probably won’t be very fancy. It probably won’t always be coherent. Probably not as grammatically correct and well spoken as my other posts. It’ll probably be more questions than answers. These posts will be a public record of my musings on the Scriptures I’m meditating on… pure and simple.

2 Timothy here we come!

~ by lukewil86 on September 10, 2008.

One Response to “Meditations & Musings”

  1. Love that you are about memorizing Scripture. My name is Christopher and I am leading a team of about 80+ people around America and a couple different countries who are memorizing Hebrews right now. I have a Bible study of sorts going on at my website and if you are on facebook there is a huge memorization community on there. Drop by my site if you are interested.

Leave a Reply

 
