Christmas is all about…

I don’t like malls. In my opinion, they are places designed to do one thing: to make you discontent. When you walk through a mall, you are immediately faced with the “reality” that you are not as cool and certainly not as good looking as everyone else [Abercrombie & Fitch, Hollister]. Your car is old [Saturn], and you need a bigger house [RealOne]. Your hair is ugly [MasterCuts], you are fat [GNC], stupid [B. Dalton Bookstore], and hungry [Food Court]. Oh, and by the way, your shoes [Finish Line, Payless], hat, [Lidz], sunglasses [Sunglasses Hut], and underwear [Victoria Not-So-Secret] all suck. And you stink [Bath & Body Works].

I work at a mall.

The Christmas sign on the front window of Finish-Line sums it up very nicely: “Walking in a winter Want-It land!” No kidding. Whoever thought of that line was pretty witty, although I don’t think it’s the best marketing scheme. It makes me not want to ever shop there. But I digress.

On Black Friday the store I work at did nearly $80,000 of sales. Based on that alone, I don’t think it would be a stretch to say that all together the stores at the mall did over a $1,000,000 worth of business in that one day. Based on the numbers I heard from a team that just came back from Africa, that amount of money would feed roughly 83,000 orphans in Kenya for one year. Eighty-three THOUSAND kids โ€“ kids who are starving right now, as you read this. What I spent on a smoothie today would feed one of them for four months.

Don’t think that I am not against buying Christmas presents, because I’m not. What I am against is people who claim to be followers of Christ misusing what God has entrusted to them, especially during the time that we are supposed to set aside to remember that God gave everything to redeem us. We just have to keep the main thing the main thing.

And don’t think that I am against Christmas, because I’m certainly not… see tomorrow’s post for my argument in favor of Christmas. I love Christmas, with a passion. I love (ALMOST) everything about it, mostly the atmosphere, the music, and the expectation, and the joy of seeing my family enjoy the things that I have purchased for them. I have spent some of the money God has entrusted me with in the last few nights on Christmas presents for people that I love. But we must keep the focus the focus.

Here’s a good verse to keep you focused on His mission on earth (and to keep you humble!)

“Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinnersโ€”of whom I am the worst.”

So, in the comments, throw out some ideas about how to celebrate the Christmas season, A.L. style!

Merry Christmas Eve Eve Eve! ๐Ÿ˜‰

~ by lukewil86 on December 22, 2007.

3 Responses to “Christmas is all about…”

  1. I’m happy for you, that you’ve found a way to make Christmas work for you, as a celebration, in a good way.

  2. well apparently you’ve never been to a mall in KY–they make you feel good about your self

  3. Good post…I agree with most of it. ๐Ÿ˜› I don’t know if Andrea’s told you what I think of Christmas, but I’m not its biggest supporter this year… Anyway, I agree that all the shopping and all is terrible. You might like what I posted yesterday…

    Looking forward to seeing your next post. ๐Ÿ™‚

    By the way, I’ve never liked the mall. ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

 
