Longing

This week I am staying at home and having as little contact with other humans as possible. My family is gone, I don’t have to go anywhere, I can just stay home. I want it to be a time where I can focus on catching up with some things (such as blogging, for instance!), and time just to be still, put away all the noise that distracts me, pray, read, and listen to God’s voice.

The hardest part of this is that I am not talking to my fiancé Kay this week. It’s Tuesday night. It’s been 48 hours since I have been with her, 48 hours since I gave her that last hug and kiss, 48 hours since I last heard her voice. (insert very long pensive sigh here). Believe me, absence is making the heart grow fonder!

Although it’s no fun being apart from her this week, it is encouraging to me because it makes me realize more than ever that we are on the lifelong journey of making one life from the two. This deep down sense of distress and incompleteness is welling up within me tonight, telling me that something is not right. Something (or someone) is missing.

I was thinking of how this feeling does (or should) apply to our lives as followers of Christ, people who are living the alternative lifestyle. The Bible refers to the church as the Bride of Christ. And yet we are separated right now. Does it bother us?

A couple of months ago I read the book Sex God by Rob Bell (thanks Jared!). Now, I realize that I have talked about Rob Bell a lot in this blog, so let me just say that he is not the only guy I read, it just so happens that it has worked out so that I have quoted him a lot in the posts so far.

Anyway, here is the deal: In the 1st century world in which Jesus lived, after a couple got engaged, he would leave to go build an addition onto his father’s house for them to live in. And the thing that blows my mind (especially tonight!) is that they wouldn’t see each other during this time. (I am extremely glad I live today!)

I can’t imagine what this must have been like for the two of them. Not seeing the person you are going to marry for months. It must have been very hard for them. Yet It also would have been a time of great expectation – looking forward with great joy to the time when they would be together again.

So understanding that context, listen to Jesus’ words to His disciples just before His death: “There is more than enough room in my Father’s home. If this were not so, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you? When everything is ready, I will come and get you, so that you will always be with me where I am.” [John 14.2-3, NLT]

You know what I’m looking forward to tonight? Do you know why I am counting down the hours (66 to go)? Because I want to be where Kay is. But I wonder as I sit here in the silence tonight… how often we as the Bride of Christ in the 21st century have the same sense of longing to be with our Groom?

Unfortunately, I can’t count the hours until we see Jesus, because I don’t know when we he will “come and get us”. But this much I do know: the more we get to know Him, the more we spend time with Him, the more we love Him, from deep within our souls we should long for our Him to come and get us so that we can be with Him forever.

Let us celebrate, let us rejoice,
let us give him the glory!
The Marriage of the Lamb has come;
his Wife has made herself ready…
…Blessed are those invited to the Wedding Supper of the Lamb.
[Revelation 19.7-10]

~ by lukewil86 on October 16, 2007.

4 Responses to “Longing”

  1. i read this…sorry, that’s the best comment I can come up with right now.

  2. Wow. There’s a lot in there…and it’s a message I’ve heard from a couple people’s blogs recently, and I know it’s something God’s been trying to get me to pay more attention to.

  3. The main thing i’m enjoying while reading your blog is the way you write, you are a really charismatic person and your posts are wonderful, keep it up!

  4. I really don’t get the whole nature of Sex God by Rob Bell. Just what is he getting at? That Jesus’ sex life should be looked at as something that the bible wrote accurately?

    Why o why do we feel the need to be guided by books that profess to teach us things that are frankly out dated and only teniously linked to anything that is current in this world today.

Leave a Reply

 
