Not Part Three, just an update on life

Hello everybody!

I just wanted to let you know that I haven’t forgotten about this blog. It’s just that a lot of things have been going on in my life during the past few weeks, and I have barely had time to breathe, let alone write. So please forgive the slowness of my posts.

Here’s the three major things that have been going on: first of all, I have been extremely busy with school. The summer semester ended just before the fall semester began, and there has been some overlap as well, so I never really had a break from it.

Second, my dad had his aortic valve replaced two weeks ago yesterday. He just came home today, so most of the last couple of weeks I have spent in A-2 at Munson Medical Center. He is doing fairly well, but he is starting to feel a little sick, so that is not good. We would all appreciate your continued prayer support.

The last thing is some very exciting news. On Sunday The Orchard had a great picnic at Old Settler’s Park in Glen Arbor. The weather was absolutely perfect! Then after that me and my girlfriend Kay went to Pyramid Point. And that evening, on the sand dunes overlooking Lake Michigan, I got down on one knee, and asked Kay to marry me. And guess what? SHE SAID YES!

So there you have it. I have been just a tiny bit busy over the past three or four weeks. So once again I say sorry for the wait and I will try my best to post more frequently from now on. 

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

On an entirely different note, I do want to make clear what my policy about comments is going to be on The Alternative Lifestyle. I don’t want to be a censor, because I am all about the free exchange of ideas, but there does need to be some guidelines in place for everyone’s benefit. So here they are. Please read them carefully… 

Guideline #1 | Personal attacks will not be tolerated. I despise this in politics, I despise it in relationships, I despise it in theological discussions, I despise it period. If you cannot argue your point in the realm of ideas, then, sorry, you have lost all credibility and you are automatically disqualified from the discussion. 

Guideline #2 | Comments must made be with the right attitude. Remember when your mom would say, “Don’t use that tone of voice with me”? I don’t care the least bit if you disagree with every word I write. That’s your choice. But you must say whatever you say out of grace and love, show respect for the others that are reading and commenting, and even at the end of the conversation be able to agree to disagree agreeably. If you are unable to do so, if I detect any meanness or hatred, then, sorry, your comment will get deleted.

Guideline #3 | Comments are conversations, not lectures. We can kick around an issue, disagree about things, try to convince each other, and agree to disagree agreeably, but the comments are not the place to preach your sermon. Comments are not the place for long drawn out arguments. They are also not the place for copying and pasting someone else answers to a question either. When I get the sense that the comments are meant not to enjoy the blog and the community around it, but to advance a certain ideology or theological viewpoint, that is when I start to get a little irritated. If you want to do that, then it only takes a few minutes to set up your own blog. So what I’m saying is this: if your comment is not a logical part of the conversation, then, sorry, it will not see the light of day. Which leads to the last guideline…  

Guideline #4 | This is my blog. It’s where I write about ideas and things that are going on in my head, you read about it, and hopefully respond. Maybe you disagree with me, and someone else disagrees with both of us, and the fourth person agrees with aspects of all of our arguments. Cool. As long as we are responding in a loving way, I am happy, and this blog is fulfilling its purpose. But if I feel that if the comments are being used to railroad the discussion and turn it into something else or used in any way that doesn’t benefit the Kingdom of God, then, sorry, I reserve the right to decide which comments lives and which ones go to that big forum in the sky.

I don’t mean to sound too harsh… those of you who have been reading this blog for a while know that nothing will really change because this is what I have been doing so far anyway. But I just wanted to put them out there so that from now on there will be no confusion and no guessing about where I stand on “censoring” comments. I’m sure that it will be a rare occasion when I need to do so.  

I’ll be posting some more soon… keep checking back!

~ by lukewil86 on August 29, 2007.

7 Responses to “Not Part Three, just an update on life”

  1. Aww, come on–why would any of that other than the school get in the way of your writing? Surely you wouldn’t let life-altering things like your dad’s surgery or your own engagement mess up your writing? hahaha

    I’m very happy for you and Kay 🙂 🙂 🙂 :), and for your family that your dad’s back…and, well, hope your school goes well.

  2. The guidelines make sense and seem quite fair to me. Personal attacks are the one that I dislike the most…give me any other logic fallacy than a personal attack! Kind of a pet peeve…

  3. About your comment Rules..[in a mean tone]… You’re stupid for putting those on your blog and here’s my seven point lecture why- So MY opinion can be dominating the page. Haha, Just kidding. yeah, well, it’s not part three but I can wait, i guess. I’m glad that life is happening for you- mainly the up’s, but life is down’s too. Good luck on your fall semester- and I’m glad I’m writing this like a letter, since I never talk to you on aim or anything =].

    Peace

  4. hahahahaha, I love your 7-point lecture…which I could figure out how it is that one can get 7 points in 1. :p

  5. You really ought to post again, Luke…it’s been ages. :p ‘Course being engaged, and doing school, and all, might take a bit of time…lol

  6. You really ought to post again, Luke…it’s been ages. :p ‘Course being engaged, and doing school, and all, might take a bit of time…haha

  7. Sorry

Leave a Reply

 
